SCHOOL COMMITTEE SCHEDULE

Meeting Minutes and Agendas (2013 – Present)                                                  

Contact:
Dr. Kimberly J. Smith
Superintendent of Schools
Asst. Superintendent of Schools
Business Administrator
Judy Boutiette
School Committee Clerk
Address:
60 Farm Street
Wakefield, MA 01880
Phone:
(781) 246-6400 X6969


Committee Members

Name-Address
Email
Date Terms Ends
Robert Tiro – Chairman-15 Collette Road rob.tiro@wpsk12.org April 2018
Tom Markham-Vice Chairman – 42 Harrison Ave tom.markham@wpsk12.org April 2019
Chris Callanan – 600 Salem Street, #209 chris.callanan@wpsk12.org April 2020
Anne-Marie Fortier – 78 Greenwood Ave
anne.fortier@wpsk12.org
April 2020
Gregory Liakos – 8 Grafton Street gregory.liakos@wpsk12.org April 2019
Ronald Masse – 22 Pheasantwood Drive ronald.masse@wpsk12.org April 2019
Kate Morgan – 42 Wave Ave kate.morgan@wpsk12.org April 2018

As instruments of the Massachusetts Legislature, local School Committees derive their authority from Massachusetts General Laws, from statutes and from the regulation of the State Board of Education.

The Wakefield School Committee consists of seven voting members elected to staggered three-year terms.  The School Committee operates in accordance with the MGL Ch. 71 and 41 which delegates its authority.  The  Educational Reform Act of 1993, Ch. 71 S. 37 specifies this authority as follows:

“  The School Committee in each city and town and each regional school district shall have the power to select and to terminate the Superintendent, shall review and approve budgets for public education in the district, and shall establish educational goals and policies for the schools in the district, consistent with the requirements of law and statewide goals and standards established by the State Board of Education.”

The School Committee determines overall School Department policy and budget.  The School Committee conducts public meetings which are broadcast on a local TV station.  The committee and Superintendent continually seek ways to obtain sufficient funding to support its programs from available sources at the local, state and federal levels.